~approaching self-reproach

 

 

I wrote a letter and pretended to
send it

an attempt to personify the broken beat beneath
my rib bones
rationalize how the azaleas must wait while I
orchestrate this burn

draw back my breath
and scatter confessions to a graveyard

as if confetti could calm the air

don’t apologize for leaving

the sentence would only lie restless
in my palm
until fingers hinge and curl
and knuckles become a white tourniquet

only the discoloration will remain

 

©  lori hamilton

2 responses to “~approaching self-reproach

  1. Reblogged this on Staggering poet and commented:
    She is cool, wonderful artist.

  2. Hi Ink artist, your poetry grips in the guts and pour honey. Love it. I met you from allpoetry…Hope you will peep into my page soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

