~the legacy of two seasons

 

 

when a child dies
light leaves the field

the ground shifts underfoot

and a mother
sleeps without dreaming
dreams without sleeping

I am far away
and counting days
in between us

you are no longer familiar
and I don’t know yet
what makes half a woman
less vulnerable
more whole

in the hard sun
you are a shadow
as thin as a vein
that bends inside me

but the chambers are empty

all I can remember is
the dark voice of these shallows

there are clusters of flowers
growing near me that I can’t
identify

and at the end of each day
there is so much night

© lori hamilton

Leave a Reply

